Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Tuesday avian vet visit

Atilla appeared to spend the night fairly comfortably, but by now her poops have turned quite green.

The travel cage was prepared with towels on the bottom & also a heat mat to keep her warm during the trip.  I waited until Cagney had fed Atilla breakfast before attempting to remove her.  It was easy to get Atilla into the small cage as she was still weak.  Naturally, the toyboys, shot out the cage as I moved Atilla.  They swooped over the travel cage & kept landing on it to talk to their leader.

The problem now was to get the toyboys back in the Manor so my assistant (my mum) was able to come with me to the vet, rather than toyboy-sit.  I took Atilla into the bedroom.  Fortunately, I received a text message from King Monty (over on the FeatheredFiends blog) who ordered the toyboys back into the Manor.  Millet helped too.

So, off we went to see Mr Avian Vet.  To say I was concerned is an understatement.

The diagnosis?  The hernia is, as expected, beginning to cause complications.  She has an infection to be treated with antibiotics.  She was given an injection with a strong solution of antibiotics & also something to remove fluid from the lump/hernia.

The prognosis?  The injection would make her sleepy for a few hours but then she should begin to pick up & start to eat again.  Unfortunately, even if/when she recovers from the infection, another will most probably occur…. so it is just a case of making sure she is comfortable…

No matter….. I was bringing my darling girl home where she belongs, at the Manor, with infatuated Cagney, with adoring Bezukhov & her relieved mama.

When we got home, Cagney was on the platform perch (closest to the lounge door) shouting (almost screaming) with a crazed look in his eyes.  His wings were shaking.  He was distressed.  We put Atilla in the travel cage on the poang chair & both toyboys just leapt about the Manor trying to get out.

Atilla sitting on the Poang chair

Atilla was still sleepy.  I was very tempted to let the boys out but at the same time, wanted Atilla to rest.  In the end, the boys settled down a little (as long as I did not excite them by standing up or walking) so I left Atilla to sleep on the poang with the electric blanket over her.

After a while she came to a little.  I poked in some millet but she was not interested.  A little later, I poked in some broccoli & this was more to her liking & to my delight she scoffed it down.  (See video below).  After this, I decided to let the boys out.  They flew straight over to her & Cagney was squeezing his beak through the bars.  Atilla reached out to him.  I opened the travel cage door & Cagney perched on my finger, halfway in (he doesn’t like small spaces!) & fed Atilla.  I think he fed her about half a ton of seed.  And she readily took it.  She then managed to get on my finger & wanted to come out, so I took her to the Manor.

Atilla remained sleepy for the rest of the afternoon & evening.  Every so often she would wake to be fed & maybe have a brief preen.  I could only hope the next day would see an improvement…

6 responses to “Tuesday avian vet visit

  1. featheredfiends 14 April 2012 at 23:42

    Monty was glad to help. He loves ordering budgies about.

    Like

  2. rosebudgie 15 April 2012 at 09:01

    The sausages just wish they could do something to help … Marshie is looking as if he even might let her have some of his Trill Topper if he could. (Though clearly he is rather relieved that he can’t.)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Limpalong Cagney, sleepy Atilla & the Vet « Puddings & Toyboys

Leave a Reply

