Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Cover for travel cage

There have unfortunately been a few vet trips in the last year.  To get puddings or toyboys to the vet I use the small cage.  It fits into a plastic box that I carry instead of the cage as I am paranoid the bottom will fall off.  I have always been concerned about them catching a chill or a draught when taking them to & from the car.  Once in the vet’s it takes ages for me to peel off all the layers to reveal the cage underneath.

Anyway, I decided to make a close fitting cover for the travel cage to help shield its occupant from the elements. 

I used a pink & green towel that I never liked & had been sitting in the back of the cupboard for awhile.  To add a bit of stiffness, I covered the green strips with a matching material that was black, white & pink with, appropriately, birds on!  After a little effort & trying to work out how to incorporate the cage handle, I came up with the following:

New custom cage cover

Opening front of cover

Top of cover showing cage handle

I am hoping I will never have to use it….. or if I do, it will not be for a long time….

One response to “Cover for travel cage

  1. rosebudgie 18 July 2012 at 08:38

    It would be a privilege to travel to the vet’s with a cage cover like that. But yes – let’s hope this wonderful creation doesn’t get much use!

    Like

Leave a Reply

