Extra beak to feed…

Since we have been pudding-less, there has been lots of space…. too much space….   The toyboys have been rattling around in the manor (though still avoiding sitting in Atilla’s usual spots).  It seems right to expand the flock.

Enter my little grey man… 🙂

My little grey man

Our new little friend arrived last Sunday 14th October, after a long trip on the M25 (Londoners will know what that means!)  His owner wanted him rehomed as he was not fitting in with her other 4 budgies.  She in turn had rehomed him from a friend & had only had him herself for about two months.  He is assumed to be around 10 months old & was originally bought from a pet shop.

He looked in good form although I did notice a little discharge from his right nare & he would randomly keep opening his beak in a strange manner.  When I got him home that evening, I decided to keep him in the travel cage (in the bedroom, separate from the toyboys) so it would be easier to take him to the vet the next day, which I did.

Mr Exotic Vet prescribed antibiotics in water for 5 days.  He said the discharge was most probably trickling down his throat & that was why he was opening his beak.  He agreed that otherwise he looked in good health.  When I got him back from the vet’s that Monday evening, I quickly transferred him to the spare/folding cage which would be his quarantine home for the next few weeks.  He looked a bit shell-shocked but did not take long to find his seed, millet & water.

Since then, the discharge problem has improved but not yet gone.  Mr EV suggested another week on the antibiotics.

My little grey man is a very handsome boy.  In fact, he is registered at the vet’s under the temporary name of “Lovely Boy“.  He has been fairly quiet so far in quarantine but is very alert & dare I say it…. suspicious.  Twice, I have managed to get him to eat millet from my hand without him having a panic flap so that is progress.  He likes looking out of the window.  He likes it when I sit there with him.

I hope he integrates well with my toyboys.  I hope the toyboys welcome him.  I hope they will live together harmoniously.