Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Unfeathered forehead

In a previous post I had mentioned Phinny’s forehead was looking quite bare.

He lost his feathers above his cere quite suddenly.  In fact, the morning I noticed, my first thought was that he had been in a terrible fight, but then I realised he had spent the night in his cage on his own & not even he, Mr Trouble himself, could manage to fight on his lonesome.  So the missing clump of feathers, as alarming as they looked, must simply be due to a moult.

Over the following days, his forehead looked rough.  Very rough.  Poor boy.  But then the pin feathers started coming through & he returned to being his usual handsome, troublesome self.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 responses to “Unfeathered forehead

  1. Pingback: Toenails (part 1) | Puddings & Toyboys

  2. rosebudgie 14 June 2013 at 08:29

    Poor Mr P! No wonder he’s been so grumpy. Though I guess it’s not really an excuse for CONTINUED grumpiness …

    Like

  3. Samwise 14 June 2013 at 08:40

    Ow, that does look sore :-/

    Like

  4. averil white 11 June 2015 at 19:52

    Thak you for that post – I was a little worried about my poor boy Frodo – he’s lost some feathers above his cere, but after seeing your posts, I realise that’s it’s just a tough molt. Whicj would also explain the grumpiness and not wanting to leave his cage…

    Like

    • onesweetiepea 15 June 2015 at 00:25

      I am glad this post was of help. 🙂 Sometimes, the feather loss can look quite severe! I hope Frodo comes out of his moult soon & returns to his usual non-grumpy self. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

