Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Remembering my girls: Pellets

Recently, I bought a fresh bag of Harrisons pellets.  I feed these as a treat.  They are usually available in dishes outside the cage/s & all buds eat them.  I think Bezukhov likes them best as that is usually his first stop when he is let out of the manor.  Since Bezukhov & Cagney have been in my bedroom, the pellets have not been available as there is no suitable place to put the dishes.  As a temporary measure, I added two little bowls of pellets inside the manor.  Naturally, they have completely ignored these.  Being a bit soft, I decided to offer them the pellets by hand…

One for Bezukhov…. one for Cagney…. one for Bezukhov…. one for Cagney….You get the picture….

So, why am I wittering on about Cagney, Bezukhov & pellets when this is a post about Atilla & Raspy?  Well, I used to feed the girls pellets by hand too.  In fact, it was a little ritual.

Atilla & Raspy preening

Atilla & Raspy preening

Often, they would both be sat on their ttmss swing & I would offer a pellet to Atilla… then Raspy… then Atilla… then Raspy… etc.  Everything had to be equal with the girls – if I offered Atilla something, then I had to do the same for Raspy & vice versa.  No favoritism.  We would spend a good few minutes going through the routine.  It worked well.  Whilst one was crunching on a pellet, the other was being offered one.  They would often stretch forward eager for the next pellet.  Of course there were the odd times when “taking turns” was not observed but we managed to muddle through & I am confident Atilla & Raspy both had an equal amount of pellets.

So, feeding Cagney & Bezukhov the pellets was a nice little bonding experience, with the added bonus that it reminded me of my beautiful puddings. 🙂

5 responses to “Remembering my girls: Pellets

  1. rosebudgie 21 July 2013 at 11:26

    Yes, you have to be scrupulously fair with these budgies. Although Marshie tries to bully his way into first place for all treats, I try my best to let Ian have an equal share.

    Like

  2. avianstudent 21 July 2013 at 15:53

    Ooh, the puddings, what a pair! Ptak and Mishka have a sort of sibling rivalry that demands equality. They both agree that if I’m unfair in handing out treats, I should also certainly be the one punished!

    Like

Leave a Reply

