Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

A straw & the door

Now that Phineas & Thomas have the lounge to themselves (see Separation post) I thought it would be nice if they could eventually share a cage.  This would get the number of cages in use down from three to two.  As I have concerns about some of the bars on the Ferplast, I am keen to phase this cage out.  This means attempting to get Thomas to share the folding cage with Phineas.

Knowing that it took Thomas 3 weeks to emerge from the Ferplast, I suspected that he may have a problem with small doors.  The folding cage has a large door on the front which has a small door within it.  Phineas is happy using the small door, though I do recall he initially used to go back & forth in front of it some time before he worked out it was the path to Cagney.  For Thomas, I decided to make use of the larger door, but when it is open, it sticks up above the main cage, which has always put me off.  Some thinking was needed.

A-ha!  A jumbo drinking straw was what I needed.  I got a green one & slit it along the edge & simply slid it along the top of the door.  Now it was more like an actual perch, rather than something that got in the way of flying.  The door itself is held up with pegs (what would I do without pegs?!)  I put a rope perch from the outside snaking sneakily to the inside.

Now to watch & wait!

3 responses to “A straw & the door

  1. rosebudgie 24 July 2013 at 16:32

    What a great idea! Love the pic of Thomas behind bars.

    Like

Leave a Reply

