Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Limp toes

I am thinking of renaming this blog “The Veterinary Chronicles”…

Yes, you guessed it, we have visited the vet again.  This time it was Cagney; he hurt his foot.  The last time this happened was just before Christmas.  On that occasion he recovered quickly from the bruising he had sustained.

Cagney in travel cage hanging by dodgy foot

Cagney in travel cage hanging by dodgy foot

Cagney's right foot not gripping properly

Cagney’s right foot not gripping properly

Close up of dodgy foot

Close up of dodgy foot

Cagney after vet visit

Cagney after vet visit

A few days ago I noticed Cagney limping.  There seemed to be something wrong with his right leg.  At one point, when he was on top of the Manor, I could see under his foot & it looked red.  Later on that day I managed to grab him & attempted to smear some aloe vera on his foot.  He was very wriggly (clearly he had been taking lessons from the Master of Wriggling, Bezukhov!)  He also felt very little.  Was this because I am used to holding Bezukhov who is now quite ‘solid’ or has he been losing weight?  His right foot seemed odd too, though I could not work out why (the wriggling did not help).  As the day wore on he struggled, so much so that I rang the vet to make an appointment.

The day before the vet visit, he appeared to improve though I did wonder if he had simply worked out ways to get around without putting stress on the dodgy leg.  I decided to go ahead with the visit anyway, which was yesterday, the 21st.

Of course the visit was only to go ahead on the proviso that I could actually catch Cagney.  I was fortunate that Cagney & Bezukhov thought I was ‘going in’ to catch Bezukhov for his every-other-day medication but I surprised them both by grabbing Cagney!  I popped him in the travel cage ready for his jaunt.  With the way he was climbing around the cage it was apparent something was still very wrong with his foot.  His toes seemed floppy.

Ms Exotic Hospital Vet (EHV) gave him an examination.  Other than his foot, all appeared well.  He weighed a healthy 47 grams (surprised me – I thought he would be be a lot less).  She trimmed his beak & his toenails.  His toenails were long though not as long as they have been in the past.  We assume he gets them caught, thereby pulling on his leg & causing an injury.  Ms EHV confirmed that the two outer toes on his right foot were affected & the ‘floppiness’ was most probably caused by stretched or strained ligaments.

She gave him an anti-inflammatory injection & said that it could take many weeks for his foot to heal.  It is also likely he will be left with some weakness in that area.  She gave me some Metacam to give him (orally) once a day for the next few days.  (I am not sure how administering of that will happen).

On our return, Cagney was welcomed with lots of shouting, although quite a lot of that was Phineas squawking as I had abandoned him before he could have his morning constitutional.  I made some perch adjustments in the Manor so Cagney has a soft rope perch to roost on.  Hopefully he will get a chance to rest his foot & his toes will return to full working order.

(Click on photos to enlarge)

Just for the record, here is a video of Cagney on the swinging perch the day before his visit to the vet.  You can see his foot is not functioning properly, although it does not stop him playing with the beads.

 


 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Limp toes

  1. rosebudgie 23 May 2015 at 09:05

    Looking at that video, no wonder he is known as Mr Charming! Get well soon, Mr C!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Cagney: The Shock | Puddings & Toyboys

Leave a Reply

