Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Snap!

Last week, during one of our every-other-morning medication battles, I heard Bezukhov‘s tail snap.

Ouch!

What's that doing there?

What’s that doing there?

During the struggle, his tail obviously got into a position I did not think it was in & as I moved him towards my chest, I heard the loud crack of it breaking.  I quickly smoothed it down as I could see it sticking out at an alarming angle.  When he had successfully avoided taking the majority of his medicine I put him back in the Manor & hoped the tail damage was not too great.

Over the next few days his tail continued to stick out at strange angles.  Bezukhov would twizzle his bottom & it would stick out sideways.  Then he would have a little preen & it would be put back in place again.  It was also floppy which was particularly noticeable when he was flying as it would hang down.

It must have been hanging by a thread as it finally broke off.  You can see by the photo below that the break was about along the tail, as compared with a previously moulted tail.  Fortunately, his other tail is still fully intact.

Broken tail

Broken tail

I said ‘Sorry‘ to him countless times for breaking his beautiful tail.  Hopefully he does not hold it against me…

3 responses to “Snap!

  1. rosebudgie 17 July 2015 at 09:23

    Being one of the most sensible and intelligent budgies known to the world, Bezukhov would never hold such a thing against you! And he may not show it, but he is doubtless extremely grateful for all the meds you get him. Not to speak of the seed.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Whole again | Puddings & Toyboys

Leave a Reply

