Puddings & Toyboys

A blog about my beautiful budgies.

Cagney: The Sorrow

My beautiful little boy Cagney has gone.

How very hard that is to take in.

How could it be?  Only five years old.  He was flirting just hours ago.  What about Bezukhov?  How will I tell his best buddy Bezukhov?  No Cagney.  Anymore.  No… it was too much to bear.

I am not ashamed to say I wept uncontrollably.  I went into the consulting room where he was, carefully cradled in a soft towel, looking so beautiful, as though he were sleeping.  My heart knew what had happened but my brain could not work anything out.

Ms EHV calmly told me that the blood sample she got clearly showed that Cagney had lipaemia (fat in his blood) for some time.  As he came around from the anaesthetic his heart failed.  He had an underlying heart condition that we knew nothing about.  Of course looking back at his symptoms, this offered an explanation.  Ms EHV said there was no cure for this condition, although if the blood sample had not been taken he may have lived a few months more, though still, most probably, undiagnosed.

My Cagney has gone.

I left the vets with a heart so heavy I could barely walk.  And I had to face Bezukhov & Phineas.

Cagney that last morning

Cagney that last morning

 

 

3 responses to “Cagney: The Sorrow

  1. featheredfiends 29 September 2015 at 08:28

    I don’t blame you for crying your eyes out, I would have (and have) been the same. One the waterworks starts, it wont stop.

    It’s a tough choice between anaesthetising a bird to take blood and xrays to find a cure and not doing so but possibly not finding a cure. You and the vet made your best guess to try and make Cagney well.

    Cherish the good times. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosebudgie 29 September 2015 at 08:32

    Cagney looks so beautiful in that picture … Who couldn’t have wept? Everyone did their very best for him (except perhaps Mr P!), and it’s entirely possible that he was saved several months of feeling more and more poorly. May he and Atilla fly high together, along with Raspy and Thomas too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon - creativityandfamily 29 September 2015 at 09:18

    I think most people cry when they lose a pet, they just become part of the family. I hope the other budgies will cope okay. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

