Impersonating a Toyboy

Something for you
Something for you

I am not sure which is worse, impersonating a Toyboy or impersonating a Doctor.

I had to do both!

In May, I posted about the arrival of fresh, wild, seeded grass in familiar yellow parcels, from our very kind followers Ian & Marshall & their devoted slave, rosebudgie.  Since then, we have had more welcome deliveries.  Unfortunately, I missed the post one day & was left with a “Something for you” card.  Only it was not for me; it was for Dr C Cagney!  From that, I deduced our fresh grass was sweltering in its plastic yellow envelope somewhere in the local collection office.

Dr Charming Cagney
Dr Charming Cagney

The parcel could not be collected until the next day but worryingly, along with the “Something for you” card I had to take proof of identification, which could be a valid passport, driving licence or debit/credit card.  To my knowledge, Cagney has none of these things!  Should I take my own ID & hope the post office worker did not notice I was not a doctor & also my name was not Cagney?

Well, I had no choice, so embarrassingly that was what I had to do.  The man behind the counter predictably asked for ID.  I gave him my driving licence.  He looked at it once.  He looked at it twice.  Then he looked at me & said, ‘The name doesn’t match‘.  At which point I crumbled & confessed that the parcel was not for me it was for my budgie, Cagney, who it seemed, was a qualified doctor.

With luck, he was no jobsworth, so after a little laugh, he handed the familiar yellow parcel to me & wished Cagney well.

Order was restored.  Wild grass, after given some air & freshened up, could be consumed.

Here, to date, is all the grass they have feasted on:

Thank you, rosebudgie & the Sharing Sausages!

12 thoughts on “Impersonating a Toyboy

  1. Bawahaha! Oh this did make me laugh! Sorry it was at your expense but I also had to tell the OH too as he used to be a postman 🙂 real comedy you can’t write it happens in real life – thanks for sharing 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. rosebudgie

    I have to say that I’ve been doing my best to keep from the postman who picks up the mail from work the secret of what is in the yellow packages. He gets VERY CROSS indeed if he has to pick up anything heavier than one small white envelope, so if he was to find out about the grass ….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought you were going to say he gets VERY CROSS when you don’t tell him what is in the package! I imagined “20 questions” every time he came to pick up the post. 😀

      Like

Leave a comment